Chronicles of Carlingford

This witty and popular series, set in the delightful country town of Carlingford, was inspired by Anthony Trollope's Barsetshire series, and yet has a content and style all Margaret Oliphant's own.

Mrs Oliphant wrote the first story at a low point in her life, newly returned with her three little children from Rome, where her husband had died of tuberculosis. Griefstricken and worn out, she felt she had lost her gift for writing, especially after her publishers, the Blackwoods, had rejected her latest submissions. But that very night she wrote The Executor; and as she relates in her Autobiography, "The story was successful, and my fortune, comparatively speaking, was made."

The Executor
Short Fiction1861
The Rector
Short Fiction1861
The Doctor's Family
Salem Chapel
The Perpetual Curate
Miss Marjoribanks
Phoebe, Junior - a Last Chronicle of Carlingford

Site creator / administrator:   Joan Richardson           Email:             © 2014     All rights reserved